17 October 2007

Britain’s digital switchover begins

The first step in the UK’s switch from analogue to digital television began in the early hours of this morning in Whitehaven and Copeland. Analogue transmissions of BBC Two ceased at 02:00, and replaced with those of ITV1, in turn replaced by a digital multiplex containing BBC One, BBC Two, BBC Three, CBBC and BBC News 24 by 03:00. Five is also available on a separate, bespoke multiplex. On November 14, all analogue transmissions will cease, and the area will become the first “digital-only” region of the UK. The remainder of the Border television region will switch in November next year; digital switchover is scheduled to be completed nationwide by 2012.